Estados Unidos

Dr. Sawaya has been appointed as Raja N. Khuri Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Vice President for Medical Affairs, at AUB, effective October 01, 2021, after being a Professor and the founding Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center since 1990. He was also the Director of the Brain Tumor Center at MD Anderson Cancer Center and Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at Baylor College of Medicine (2005-2014). Dr. Sawaya has received various awards, including the Joseph P. Evans Award in Neurosurgery at the University of Cincinnati, and the Charles Wilson Award from the National Brain Tumor Society. He has also served on numerous medical journals and is frequently requested as a national and international lecturer. He has published more than 300 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals, authored over 45 book chapters, and written and edited 11 books. Dr. Sawaya, who earned his MD from Université Saint-Joseph in 1974, is a noted leader in the field of neurosurgery with particular expertise in primary and metastatic brain tumors. He is renowned for his great strides in enhancing the accessibility and safety of brain tumor surgery.